Without the guitar team of Joe Perry and Brad Whitford, Rock In A Hard Place didn't possess the magical chemistry of their '70s classics. Jimmy Crespo and Rick Dufay filled in for the departed duo, and it turned out to be the group's most studio-enhanced and experimental record up to this point. The 1970's was over and this is the last album (at least up to 2016) with the classic sound of Aerosmith. There is nothing really wrong with the rhythm section nor the work from the guitars. The groove is often there and the overall instrumental parts gets the job done.


1.Jailbait 2.Lightning Strikes 3.Bitch's Brew 4.Bilivian Ragamuffin 5.Cry Me A River 6.Prelude To Joanie 7.Joanie's Butterfly 8.Rock In A Hard Place (Cheshire Cat) 9.Jig Is Up 10.Push Comes To Shove


Steven Tyler - lead vocals, keyboards, piano, harmonica, drums, acoustic guitar, producer, Jimmy Crespo - guitar, backing vocals, additional vocals on "Bitches Brew", Rick Dufay - guitar (credited but doesn't play on the album; joined band when recording was finished), Tom Hamilton - bass, Joey Kramer - drums. Additional musicians: Paul Harris - piano ("Push Comes To Shove"), John Turi - saxophone ("Rock In A Hard Place (Cheshire Cat)"), Reinhard Straub - violin ("Joanie's Butterfly"), John Lievano - acoustic guitar ("Joanie's Butterfly")

Release date: August 1, 1982